Government of West Bengal Department of Land & Land Reforms and Refugee Relief & Rehabilitation NABANNA (6th Floor) 325, Sarat Chatterjee Road, Howrah -711102

Notification

No. 576/RR/O/2P-122/2023

Date: 01/02/2024

Displaced persons from the erstwhile East Pakistan, now Bangladesh under pressing unavoidable circumstances migrated to India and settled over vacant plots all over West Bengal and thus a number of refugee colonies came into existence. The Government of West Bengal has been providing these refugee families with FHTDs so as to legalise their rights over these plots which they have been residing on for decades. These colonies are usually named as 'refugee colony' or 'udbastu colony' or 'bastuhara colony', etc.

Now, to bring uniformity in the names of the refugee colonies of West Bengal, the Governor is pleased to bring change in the nomenclature of the refugee colonies of West Bengal so as to contain the term "Sthayee Thikana" in place of the terms such as Colony/Refugee Colony/Udbastu Colony/Bastuhara Colony, etc.

This Notification is issued in pursuance with the decision of the State Cabinet in its 52nd Meeting held on 11/01/2024 and communicated vide Cabinet Sectt. U/O. No. CAB(D)-887, dated 11/01/2024.

> By Order of the Governor Sd/-(Smaraki Mahapatra) Land Reforms Commissioner & Secretary to the Government of West Bengal

No. 576/1(25)/RR/O/2P-122/2023

Date: 01/02/2024

Copy forwarded for information and necessary action to:

- 1) Municipal Commissioner, Kolkata Municipal Corporation
 - 5, S.N. Banerjee Road, Kolkata 700013.
- 2) Director of Land Records & Surveys
 - 35, Gopal NagarRoad, Alipore, Kolkata-700027.
- (all districts except Purulia, Purba Medinipur). 3) District Magistrate, __
- 4) Deputy Refugee Rehabilitation Commissioner, West Bengal Refugee Relief and Rehabilitation Directorate Karigori Bhavan, B/7, Action Area – III, Rajarhat, New Town, Kolkata-160.

5) SDO, Siliguri.

Deputy Secretary to the Government of West Bengal

No. 576/2(5)/RR/O/2P-122/2023

Copy forwarded for information to:

Date: 01/02/2024

- 1) Sri Ranjit Sarkar, Chairman, State Advisory Committee, Deptt. of L&LR and RR&R.
- 2) Sri Dhiman Roy/ Sri Ashim Kumar Majhi/ Sri Tarakeswar Chakravarty/ Smt. Mitali Banerjee, Member, State Advisory Committee, Deptt. of L&LR and RR&R.

Deputy Secretary to the Government of West Bengal